Individual Turkey

Name: Turkey (male) turkey hen (female)
Size: Body length approx. 100-125cm, tail length approx. 40-50cm
Weight: 8-11 kg 
Age: 10-15 years
Offspring: Turkey hens lay up to 60 eggs per year, about 8-15 per clutch. The young hatch after 28 days and then spend the first 6 weeks with their mother. The hens join together with their chicks to form large groups where the chicks are protected by their mothers for several months.
Mating behaviour: Turkeys court the females with a courtship dance in which the skin flaps on the head and neck become discolored and swollen. In addition, the male taps the ground with his feathers and makes luring noises.
Social behaviour: In nature, turkeys live together in complex social structures. During the cold season, they form associations of several hundred animals with a fixed ranking
Food: Fruit and seeds, but also worms, snails and insects are part of their diet. They prefer to move on foot, especially since they find their food mainly on the ground. Up to 50 per cent of their daily activity is spent foraging and eating in wild turkeys. Over the course of the day they cover an average distance of 10 to 13 kilometres. 
Higyiene: Turkeys devote a lot of time to the care of their plumage. They use their beaks and claws for this purpose.

In Freedom

In the animal industry

Name: Turkey (male) turkey hen (female)
Size: Body length approx. 100-125cm, tail length approx. 40-50cm
Weight: Up to 24Kg due to fattening
Age: 15-17 weeks (female) 19-22 weeks (male)
Offspring: The chicks are artificially hatched and grow up without mothers.
Mating behaviour: Due to their unnaturally high body weight and oversized breast muscles, turkeys cannot reproduce naturally and are therefore artificially inseminated.
Social behaviour: The conditions lead to almost permanent stress and competitive behaviour. Especially the males threaten and impress, spreading their wings and ruffle their feathers. In the crowd this quickly turns into aggression
Food: The food intake of the heavy "fattening turkeys" takes up just 8 to 9 percent of their daily activity. The pelleted feed is provided to them and can also be absorbed more quickly. However, the animals are not employed elsewhere for this reason. A frequent consequence is boredom and aggression, which is manifested among other things by feather pecking.
Hygiene: Fattening turkeys can only clean their plumage to a limited extent. The oversized chest muscles prevent them from cleaning themselves undisturbed. The frequency of plumage grooming decreases significantly, as the birds lie exclusively in their excrements.

List of references

Further sources of information

  • Instagram
  • Facebook App Icon

Individu Dinde

Nom: Dinde (femelle) Dindon (mâle)
Taille: Longueur du corps env. 100-125cm, longueur de la queue env. 40-50cm
Poids: 8-18 kg 
Âge: 10-15 ans
Reproduction: Les dindes pondent jusqu'à 60 œufs par an, soit environ 8 à 15 par couvée. Les jeunes éclosent au bout de 28 jours et passent ensuite les 6 premières semaines avec leur mère. Les poules se regroupent avec leurs poussins pour former de grands groupes où les poussins sont protégés par leur mère pendant plusieurs mois
Comportement d'accouplement: Les dindons courtisent les femelles avec une danse de séduction dans laquelle les lamelles de peau sur la tête et le cou se décolorent et gonflent. De plus, le mâle tapote le sol avec ses plumes et fait des bruits de leurre.  
Comportement social: Dans la nature, les dindes vivent ensemble dans des structures sociales complexes. Pendant la saison froide, ils forment des associations de plusieurs centaines d'animaux avec un classement fixe.
Alimentation: Les fruits et les graines, mais aussi les vers, les escargots et les insectes font partie de leur régime alimentaire. Ils préfèrent se déplacer à pied, d'autant plus qu'ils trouvent leur nourriture principalement sur le sol. Jusqu'à 50 % de l'activité quotidienne de dindes sauvages est consacrée à la recherche de nourriture.
Hygiène: Les dindes consacrent beaucoup de temps à l'entretien de leur plumage. Ils utilisent leur bec et leurs griffes à cette fin.

En liberté

Dans l'élevage

Nom: Dinde (femelle) Dindon (mâle)
Taille: Longueur du corps env. 100-125cm, longueur de la queue env. 40-50cm
Poids: jusqu'à 24 kg
Âge: 15-17 semaines (femelles) 19-22 semaines (mâles)
Reproduction: Les poussins sont éclos artificiellement et grandissent sans mère.
Comportement d'accouplement:  En raison de leur poids corporel anormalement élevé et de la taille excessive de leurs muscles pectoraux, les dindes ne peuvent pas se reproduire naturellement et sont donc inséminées artificiellement.
Comportement social: Les conditions conduisent à un stress presque permanent et à un comportement compétitif. Ce sont surtout les mâles qui menacent et impressionnent, en déployant leurs ailes et en ébouriffant leurs plumes. Dans la foule, cela se transforme rapidement en agression.
Alimentation:  L'apport alimentaire des dindes lourdes "d'engraissement" ne représente que 8 à 9 % de leur activité quotidienne. Les aliments en granulés leur sont fournis et peuvent également être absorbés plus rapidement. Cependant, les animaux ne sont pas employés ailleurs pour cette raison. Une conséquence fréquente est l'ennui et l'agressivité, qui se manifeste entre autres par le picage de plumes.
Hygiène: Les dindes d'engraissement ne peuvent nettoyer leur plumage que de manière limitée. Les muscles pectoraux surdimensionnés les empêchent de se nettoyer sans être dérangés. La fréquence des soins du plumage diminue considérablement, car les oiseaux se reposent exclusivement dans leurs excréments.

Liste des sources 

Autres sources d'information